Jevaughn Codlin | Kansas Wesleyan University | DB

Twitter: @_Jcod | Instagram: @_jcod

Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting process was like. Why did you choose Kansas Wesleyan?
A: my college career was filled with ups and downs. I faced a lot of adversity that i had to overcome and in fact that made me a better player. In high school the recruiting process was great, i was receiving a lot of attentions from programs but i ran into a situation that caused most schools to not want to take a chance on me. I then got offered by Kansas Wesleyan University. It was the best decision i made and i can say that program has changed my life. The coaching staff was young and they were the only school who wanted to take a chance on me even with my difficult situation. I bleed purple and gold.
Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?
A: my biggest accomplishment is not an individual award. It is going 22-0 in conference play for two years back to back and winning the KCAC championship twice. That was the most memorable thing about my collegiate career as well.
Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at Kansas Wesleyan ( list your school)?
A: I’ve learned alot from the coaching staff over the years. But something my defensive coordinator always told was “perception is reality” and i kept that with me ever since. And to me it just made me be conscious of my body language, energy, and my attitude.
Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?
A: i studied exercise science. I want to get into personal training but focused on athletes. I want to develop athletes and push them to their full potential.
Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?
A: they would say I’m a hard worker and a team player. They would say I’m a guy that they could always depend on to do his job and be at work everyday ready to work.
Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?
A: my first collegiate interception is a play I’ll never forget. It wasn’t a huge interception but since It was my first as freshman it was something I’d never forget.
Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?
A: my biggest challenge has been being away from my mom for 15 going on 16 years. And i deal with it by keeping her and my siblings in the back of my mind always, they are the reason why i grind so hard. I pray one day we reunite, that is also what keeps me going.
Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?
A: if i could compare myself to a pro athlete i would say i play like Kenny Moore, the slot corner for the colts. And initially i say that because of our size but our ability to play way bigger than we are measured on paper.
Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?
A: my biggest strength is my work ethic. I feel as if my work ethic is unmatched. I’m gonna always try to be my best and out work the man across from me. I’m not a guy that gets in trouble with off the field issues. That is one of my greatest strength is my maturity.
Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back”/”pay it forward” in your community?
A: yes i pay it forward in my community. I sometimes will give back to the youth by training them or working them out when i have the time.
Q: How are you preparing for the 2020 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?
A: i am training at the bay coaching facility and sharpe performance. My goals are to just go out there and compete and put a great show and leave it all in Gods hands.
Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?
A: making a NFL roster!
Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?
A: i enjoy being with family and working on my craft.
Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?
A: My aunt Karen is the most influential person in my life. She has been through so much but she always find a way to persevere. She’s my superwoman.
Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?
A: I played soccer growing up. So my feet is my greatest weapon that is what separates me from other DBs. I am goldfeet certified.