Wyatt French | North Carolina Wesleyan College | C/OL 

Twitter: @Frenchie9x3  | Instagram: @frenchie9x3


Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting process was like. Why did you choose _____________ (list your school)? 

A: My college career was a blur. I was recruited by multiple schools, yet North Carolina Wesleyan College stood out because it felt like home. The surrounding environment reminded me of home, due to the conditions and support the school obtained from the community. NCWC offered me the best chance to play/start right away, as they are a growing program. I began as a DL but that quickly changed. After my freshman year, the team asked me to move to Center; due to the fact that I played center/OL in high school. 

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?  

A: My biggest accomplishment, was the opportunity to play and be invited in two bowl showcase games. I played in the National Bowl and the 2020 Miami Podyum All-Star Bowl. It was a great experience to meet scouts and play with some of the best small school athletes in the nation. 

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at_____________ ( list your school)?   

A: The most important things that I have learned from my coaching staff, is to be a great teammate over everything. An offense is only as good as it’s OL. I had the privelege to play and lead my OL at NCWC. In my final season, the OL was top 10 in the nation for fewest sacks allowed, and #1 in our conference for yards per carry.   

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?   

A: My major was Criminal Justice, and I am scheduled to take my LSAT for law school on March 20th, 2020. If football does not work out, I want to get my law degree and focus in business law.   

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities? 

A: I am an undersized OL in height, but my current and past teammates says that does not affect my play. My teammates would say I am the ultimate teammate, as I expect the best out of everyone; every single rep. My head coach, Jeff Filkowski, and OL coach, Matt Keith. Would say that I am the type of teammate that you want to help you fight in a dark alley. 

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level? 

A:  My most memorable play would be what I call the “perfect play”. My junior year of college, we had a massive running back weighing about 250 pounds. We were on our 30-yard line, and we call a power pay. We had 11 guys on the same page, fighting for his brothers beside him. The 250-pound running back was able to run a 68-yard touchdown untouched. That’s only possible if everyone is fighting for him. 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?  

A: My biggest challenge is my height. As I said earlier, I am an undersized C/OL. Yet I attack this situation by having quicker hands than the DL. I shoot my hands quick to have the DL try to smack the down, therefore I pull back, so he whiffs and becomes unbalanced. That’s when I eat, I then power back with a punch and go to work.     

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?  

A: I would say that I favor Jason Kelce as a C/OL. Jason Kelce may be larger than me, but he used to be a smaller OL as he came out of Connecticut College. His game style still plays as a smaller OL. He is lighting fast with his first step as he can reach like no other, and his kick step is not very long; but he makes up for it with his hand placement.   

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you? 

A: As I said earlier, I am the ultimate teammate. I honor the safety and strengths of my teammates, as I push them to be the best, they can be every rep. I do not really care about stats; all I care about what the scoreboard says at the end of the game. 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back”/”pay it forward” in your community?  

A: In my hometown, I was involved with some charitable donations/ mentoring programs. I was involved with a charitable organization called “Robbie Gives Back.” The organization is a great thing as a kid that had cancer, accents donations and gives it to the less fortunate. The mentoring program worked with the mentally impaired kids, as I would hang out with the kids and build their self-confidence by playing sports with them. One of my best friends from the mentoring program would be Keith Crouse. 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2020 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?  

A: I have been reached out to multiple trainers to workout with them, yet my funds have been limited due to my mother needing surgery. I work 2 jobs right now; one at jersey mikes, the other at my school. But between those times or whenever I am free, I do schoolwork and workout. My goals are to have the most reps of 225 out of the OL and have a 40-yard dash below 5 seconds. A scout must notice me then. 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: My ultimate achievement would just to be signed to a professional team. I do not need some big fancy contract. I love football, that’s all there is. A paycheck would be nice, but the game is so much more. I can be an all-star scout team player, or the best bench warmer on Sundays. Whatever a team wants me to do, I am going to show them that I am worth it.   

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football? 

A: I enjoy working out playing video games, watching NETFLIX or reading a book. Outside of football, I am not a person that needs to be around a lot of people. I find that being alone is good for the mental strength.  

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?  

A: My mother is the hardest working and toughest woman of my life. She has battled cancer and multiple surgeries to her body. My mother has never taken a sick day. She is always working, and always being there for me. She is my rock, and I honestly have no clue what I’d do without her. Everything I do in my daily life; is to be a person my mom is proud of. 

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?   

A: When I was in middle school, I was taught how to play almost every brass instrument. Such as, the tuba, the baritone, the trumpet, the French horn and the trombone. I still play the French Horn and trumpet from time to time, but that is just to keep my mind sharp. 

Share This