Select Page

Louis Quinones | Valley City State University | RB/WR

Instagram: @Louie__Vuitton__


Louis Quinones – RB

Q: Tell us about your college (or pro) career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like. Why did you choose Valley City State University?

A: Coming out of high school I had a few offers from different schools but struggled on figuring out which one would be the best fit for me as an athlete as well as being able to support myself financially. I ended up receiving an offer from Valley City State University and ended up committing because I felt like they wanted me there and had an opportunity to play early in my career. I ended up playing as a true freshman, splitting carries with a senior running back which in turn helped me build confidence to become the player I wanted to be. This led me to grind each year and stay focused on football which helped me become successful through the years earning All-Conference awards every year after that. This pushed me to want to receive my ultimate goal which was to be an All-American in which I accomplished my senior year as well as breaking my school’s records for a running back.

 

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: One of my biggest accomplishments in my sports career was when I broke my school’s rushing record and touchdown record and my family being there to witness it.

 

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at Valley City State University?

A: The coaching staff at Valley City has taught me that it is important to know your role on a team and do it to the best of your abilities and that is what builds a successful team.

Q: How was your career impacted due to the 2020 pandemic and what have you learned from the adversity?

A:My career has been impacted by the pandemic by having my Pro Day cancelled as well as my training facility being shut down. The main thing I have learned from the adversity was to have a positive mindset and to always stay ready for your opportunity to come.

 

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: I am majoring in Business Administration with a focus in Management and Human Resources. If football doesn’t work out, I plan on opening a training facility to train high school athletes and to be able to help them get into college by providing them with the exposure they need to be seen by college coaches.

 

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A:What they would say is that I am someone who is very passionate about the things I love like football and family. They would also say that I am a person who strives to become the best they can be and someone whom they can count on to lead them to success.

The coaching staff at Valley City has taught me that it is important to know your role on a team and do it to the best of your abilities and that is what builds a successful team.

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A: Most memorable play was in college; I returned the opening kickoff against our rival school to get us the first score of the game.

 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: My biggest challenge has been when I had to transition from being home with family to moving to another state for college and being independent. The way I was able to manage it was making sure that I had my priorities right and managing my time with school, my job and football. Also having proper guidance by my coaches and professors allowed me to be more responsible and self-disciplined with my daily schedule.

 

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: If I could compare myself to a pro athlete, I would compare myself to Danny Woodhead because I feel like I have the ability to play running back but still be able to catch the ball and run routes if I were to be placed in the slot.

 

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: The biggest strength I would bring is my versatility by being able to play on special teams as well as play running back if needed or to play receiver if needed as well.

 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or “pay it forward” in your community?

A: In my church I volunteer the first Saturday of every month giving homeless people groceries and everyday necessities through a food bank that is run through a city organization.

 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2021 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: I am preparing by lifting 3 times a week as well as training with a running back coach every other day. I also have a speed coach and receiver coach that I go to twice a week that give me workouts throughout the week to do with yoga in between days. My goal is to beat my previous times and measures and to be one of the top athletes to perform at the combine.

 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: My ultimate achievement would be to sign a contract in the NFL and be the top athlete at the combine.

 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: What I enjoy is spending time with my family and being able to go on vacations with them as well as go golfing with friends.

 

Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

A: The positive impact I would make is being able to help support families in need and provide them a place to live and food for them to be able to provide for their kids as well as help their kids be able to receive an education. The reasoning behind this is because I believe that everyone deserves the opportunity to be successful and chase their dreams without having limitations based on their financial status.

 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: The most influential person in my life has been my dad

 

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: Something unique would be that I speak fluent Spanish because my family is full Puerto Rican.

 

Q: What is your dream job?

A: My dream job would be to work with a sports company like Nike or Adidas and be part of their management team and work on future projects for the company to expand.