National Scouting Combine Featured Athlete Marcus Wilson, RB from Salisbury University

Marcus Wilson | Salisbury University | RB 

Twitter: @MARCUS34WILSON | Instagram: @KING_DUBB1


Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like. Why did you choose (Enter school name)?

A: The recruiting process from me out of high school was a unique experience. Even though I was an All-State Running Back and surpassed the All-Time Leading Rushing record in Berks Catholic High School history, I was being sought out for Linebacker at the FCS level. In my first time talking to a collegiate coach from Delaware State, I remember he had asked me what position I wanted to play and asked me to answer truthfully. I went into full detail how running the ball was my passion. Soon after that conversation, I began to tell coaches that running the ball is where I wanted to play when they came in to see me. The D1 schools lost interest. D2 and D3 schools began to roll in as a top choice. I had one offer coming out of high school from Millersville University and a couple of preferred walk-ons at D2 schools. After much consideration, I decided to commit to West Chester University as a PWO. After 3 seasons at WCU, I earned a partial scholarship and was primarily used as a starting FB/HB/TE and decided to enter the transfer portal to start seeing what my other options would be. Salisbury University presented me with a better opportunity to make an impact at running the football in the triple option offense. When I arrived in the spring of 2020, I got my feet wet in the new offense and things were starting to feel good. Unfortunately, the fall 2020 season was canceled due to Covid-19. Spring of 2021 rolled in, and SU had the opportunity to play a mini season where I was given the chance to start my first game against division rival Wesley College. This game was the highlight of my career with 17 carries for 101 yards rushing with two touchdowns. I was awarded player of the game and was recognized nationally by the D3football.com as a running back. I was named All-Conference spring 2021. Fall 2021, I contributed to the best of my ability by winning a conference championship and a clinching a playoff berth. After completing that season, I was given my first opportunity to play at the national level at the FCS bowl in Daytona Beach, Florida where I competed against D1, D2, and D3 students all over the nation. In Daytona for my last collegiate game, I ran for 2 touchdowns and averaged 6.5 yards a carry.

 

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: I would consider my biggest accomplishment in my sports career was competing at the national level and showcasing my skills against the best at the FCS bowl game in Daytona Beach, Florida.

 

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at (Enter school name)?

A: I would say one of the more important things I learned from the coaching staff while playing at Salisbury University was to always remain disciplined and seize any opportunity that is presented to me.

 

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: My degree will be in Exercise Science with a minor in Sports medicine. If football is not the path that I will be taking, I plan to remain involved in the fitness and wellness industry and own my very own health and wellness center.

 

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: My current and past teammates would say that I am a team player. They would tell you that one of my qualities is that I do not like to stay stagnant and always looking to better not only myself, but also those around me, on and off the field. They will also say that I am a determined and a very hard-working player.

 

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A:  The cliché answer would be to say my first collegiate touchdown at East Stroudsburg University in Pennsylvania, however that is not the most memorable because my family and friends could not be there for that moment. My most memorable moment in my career was having the first touchdown in front of my family and friends at the collegiate level against Kutztown University. After making the play, I was able to see them in the stands cheering and going crazy. That moment will always have a special place in my heart that I would hold onto forever.

 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: My biggest challenge in my football career would have to be staying mentally strong and going after my dreams. There have been multiple situations when certain situations did not go as I wanted them to go, however I had to remain focus. Sitting and being upset about something that is out of my control was not the way to go about it. I had to take it at face value, reevaluate the situation and act accordingly, which meant turning negatives into positives.

 

Q: Who was the best player you played against during your collegiate career?

A: This is a tough question because in my collegiate career, I came across a lot of “best players”. However, I can say there is one player that I shared the field with that really stood out to me. Jarey Elder who was an all-American safety at West Chester University. Jarey had the qualities of a leader on and off the field who plays fast and physical. I look up to Jarey and he has been a mentor to me to still to this day.

 

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: If I had to compare myself to a pro athlete, it would have to be AJ Dillion from the Green Bay Packers. We both share the rare size and speed qualities of a football player. We also share the characteristics of being downhill runners with physically intentions at the end of our runs.

 

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: The biggest strength that I can bring to a professional team and why scouts should consider me is my skill to adapt to many positions any team needs me for. I am a very versatile player who has history at many offensive positions that I can display with my size and speed.

 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or ”pay it forward” in your community?

A: When I am home in Reading, PA and have availability, I participate in football and basketball camps for the youth that is hosted by Berks Catholic High School. I also give back to the local Goodwill with clothes and household items.

 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: I like to enjoy the 5Fs! Football, Family, Friends, Food, and Fun. When I am not playing football, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. When we all get together, there is usually food and a whole bunch of fun that include karaoke, board games or scavenger hunts. My family means a lot to me.

 

 

Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

A: If I could make an impact on all of society, I would keep promoting the spread of love and being kind. We live in a world where people forget that everyone has battles that they fight every day. I truly would love a platform where I can keep reminding society that being a good person for our peers around us will truly make a positive impact on everyone for the better.

 

 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: I am blessed to say that I have many people who have influenced me in my life as family is super important to me, however the spotlight would have to shine on my parents. My mom and dad have influenced me in many ways. I could write a book that would include different lessons and advice that both have given me from remembering to be a gentleman to all women to making sure my bed is made before I leave the house. It’s truly endless. There aren’t enough words to say to show how appreciative I am for them Thank you mom and dad.

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: Sometime unique about me that people would find interesting is that I grew up in a family that is filled with independent, powerful, and loving women. This means that I am the only boy in the family. Out of 9 cousins, I am the lone wolf, but it has its pros and cons. What’s even more interesting is that I was also born on January 6th which is 3 Kings Day in Puerto Rican Culture and that’s where my nickname came from “A King born on 3 Kings Day” to a family filled with Queens. I am blessed to have the family that was bestowed upon me.

 

 

Q: If you had the opportunity to play another sport professionally, what sport would you choose?

A: If I had the opportunity to play another sport professionally it would have to be basketball.

 

 

Q: What is your dream job?

A: My dream job is to work as a strength and conditioning coach for the Philadelphia Eagle’s Organization.

Share 0
0
0
0
0
0
0

2023 National Scouting Combine

January 23rd-27th held at Grand Park Events Center in Westifled, IN. Ready to compete?
Lets Go!

National Scouting Combine Posts