Andre Bird-Pierre | Graceland Universityy | DL

Twitter: @AndreBirdPierre | Instagram: @Thenamesdre_


Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting process was like. Why did you choose _____________ (list your school)?
 
A: My college career started very uniquely. I actually tried out for Nassau Community College (a JuCo college) and got cut the first time. However, I came back the following semester and made the team. During my recruiting process it was really fun. Gotti meet with all these amazing coaches who’ve helped me get to where I am at today! I chose Graceland because of the coaches and the environment that the coaches had created for me! Just felt like the right fit at the time.
 
 
Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?
 
A: My biggest accomplishment in sports would be the fact that I have been given the opportunity to compete and showcase my talents to those who want to see me play at the next level. I feel that every football player when they are young always dream of this moment and i actually get to live it!
 
 
Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at_____________ ( list your school)?
 
A: One of the more important things that I have learned from my coaching staff while playing at Graceland University was that no matter how bad a situation looks as long as you are willing to fight and grind for your spot everything will work out!
 
 
Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?
 
A: My Major was Business Administration and my plan was to open my own construction company to buy back a block in an inner city/ low income neighborhoods to build more affordable homes for them. As well as build homes for families that deal with domestic violence. I want to give those families a fighting chance to become more then their situation presents!
 
 
Q: What
would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?
 
A: That I’m a loyal friend/teammate and I am willing to go to the end for them. Also that I am determined, focused and hard working.
 
 
Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?
 
A: During my first game at Graceland we were down a couple scores and defense was asked to secure a stop. I told my teammates lets get offense the ball, as the ball snapped I read the offensive tackles bs blocking technique so I knew it was a screen. Stopped in my tracks and flipped my head to see if it was a WR or RB screen. Saw that it was a RB screen and I then saw that the RB was near me and the ball coming I jumped and got the interception one handed and ran it back for like 15 yards while running through tackles and stiff armed the QB and then got tackled. Got to the sideline and was bombarded by helmet taps and pushes when all I was looking for was some air. Lol  
 
 
Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?
 
A: My biggest challenge is having fun with it because this sport means so much to me. For me I sometimes take it too serious and it gets to me mentally.
 
 
Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?
 
A: I would compare myself to Christian Wilkins because of my versatility and the ability to put me anywhere on the Line and will be able to dominate!
 
 
Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?
 
A: My biggest strength is my passion for the game, my ability to be one for the team and my teammates, among all of that it’s my determination to make plays. My high motor relentlessness to finish plays and be a difference maker!
 
 
Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back”/”pay it forward” in your community?
 
A: No I am not in not in the regular sense at-least. I do however help promote kids projects and dreams that I know f
rom my hometown or even around where I live. I feel that it’s my duty as one of the elders in my community to be able to help give those kids the platforms that I didn’t growing up. I am not affiliated with them I just do it because I know the feeling of trying to make it with little community support.
 
 
Q: How are you preparing for the 2020 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?
 
A: I am preparing for the 2020 National Scouting Combine by working out with my school. My goals are to bring the best version of my self to Indiana.
 
 
Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?
 
A: My ultimate achievement would be to buy my mother’s dream house, car and also be able to pay for the younger kids in my family their college tuition when they get there. That’s my ultimate goal!
 
 
Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?
 
A: Usually I try to workout and stay in most of my athletic shape. I do however like to spend time with my family and travel.
 
 
Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?
 
A: My Mother, she has been there every step of the way for me! Last year when she was diagnosed with breast cancer she showed me how when times get tough to pick your head up, continue on your path and break through that wall! Once you do you’ll eventually get past the hard times/obstacles. She is still in treatment but her cancer is in remission.
 
 
Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?
 
A: Something that is unique about me is that I am a love able person. That’s at least what my mom told me, lol. On a more serious note though I am much more mentally tough then the average person. There is nothing that I have not been through or faced that I have yet to succumb too.
Share This