Kevon Newerls | Millersville University | WR 

Twitter: @MyNewerls31


Q: Tell us about your college (or pro) career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like. Why did you choose Millersville?

A: I went to Thaddues Stevens college from high school, and played there for 2 years. I then went to walk on at East Carolina but found out that all my credits would not transfer over. I was not division 1 eligible so i decided to choose millersville as my next option. The recruiting process was very stressful, and took up a lot of time to make sure I was choosing the best choice for me.

 

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: I would say that my biggest accomplishment in my career so far is to receive my degree while I was 100% committed to my team

 

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at Millersville?

A: To always keep pushing forward no matter what the odds are against you they can always be overcome.

 

Q: How was your career impacted due to the 2020 pandemic and what have you learned from the adversity?

A: I was not able to finish my last season of my career. Due to covid my season was cancelled. I learned that nothing is promised, and that you have to keep moving forward in life to keep working towards your goals and dreams.

 

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: I am a sports business major. I also have my Electrical technology degree, so if football does not work out i will pursue both fields of work to see which one I like the best.

I would say that my biggest accomplishment in my career so far is to receive my degree while I was 100% committed to my team.

~ Kevon Newerls

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: They would say that I am a physical player, I work hard and will always come ready to get the job done.

 

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A: My last high school touchdown. It was against our rival school, it was the last touchdown of the game. It wasn’t the touchdown that made it a memorable moment, it was the feeling of me celebrating with my teammates for the last time.

 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: I would say my biggest challenge was figuring out where I was going to attend school, and play ball where they would make me feel at home.

 

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

 

A: I would compare myself to DK Metcalf. He has a dog mindset and is a big physical wide receiver that has no limits to what he can do. I also would compare myself to Kobe Bryant because of his discipline and his mamba mentality.

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

 

A: I come ready to give it my all. I will help contribute to the team in any way I can, and I’m a big competitor. I will always compete and push others to be better.

 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or ”pay it forward” in your community?

A: I help in my community as much as I am able to. Every little thing goes a long way, like providing families with meals for the holidays and making sure they have help through these hard times.

 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2021 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: I workout everyday and have a daily diet that I follow. I workout 3 days a week with Johnny Martian, a good friend of mine who is also a trainer. He is great at what he does and will bring you to the next level. My goal is to be at the top of every test, that’s the kind of person I am to try to be the best at everything I do.

 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: It’s been my dream to play in the NFL since I was a little boy. so one of the biggest achievements would be to say that i got to live my dream.

 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: When i’m not playing football I love to be in the gym, I am obsessed with fitness. If i’m not in the gym then I’m looking at things to invest in. I’m very interested in investing .

 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: I would say my mother would have to be the most influential person in my life. Just because the roles that she had to take over the years.

 

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: Golf was one of the first sports I liked and started to play.

 

Q: What is your dream job?

A: My dream job would be to become a pro athlete. I love sports and to play football as my career, it couldn’t get any better.