Quick Stats

Name: Edward Ruhnke
College: University of Mount Union
Years: 2013-2015
Major: Accounting and Management
Highlight film link:

About Edward

What was the most important thing you learned during your career?
The most important thing I learned in my career is the amount of work it takes to make it to the next level, whether it be high school to college or college to the professional level. There is an incredible amount of competition to make it to the next level and I know that in order for me to make it I need to be the person working the hardest day in and day out to improve myself on and off the field.
What qualities do you possess that makes you a candidate for a professional contract?
A few qualities I possess that make me an excellent candidate for a professional contract include a strong work ethic, self-confidence, and self-awareness and control. A strong work ethic goes without saying. Everyone that wants to play professional football needs to have a strong work ethic or they will never make it. I know when I get up in the morning I am going to strive to be the hardest working person of that day in preparation to kick at the professional level. I have always believed in myself and that is where self-confidence comes in to play. I don’t care who I am up against or what their statistics are, every time I walk onto the field I know that I am the best player at my position and when I walk off the field everyone else will know that as well. This doesn’t mean I am not open to learning something new and taking advice and coaching, this is strictly a competitive mindset. Finally is my self-awareness and control. It is a common tendency that people can get nervous in front of people or a big crowd. From the first day I kicked a football I knew that I could play at a professional level. I would sit at games with my father looking down saying I could picture myself out there. I do not get distracted by a crowd or the level of play. I know that I can kick a football well and nothing around me is going to affect the way I kick it.
What was your major and why did you choose to study that field?
My major is accounting and management. I am a numbers oriented guy and would like to own my own business. I chose to double major because Accounting interested me from day one and understand it very well. The management degree will help me attain my ultimate goal of opening up my own business. With these degrees I hope to help and provide services to people.
What is your routine like as you pursue a professional opportunity?
Upon finishing my senior season I have moved down to Florida from Ohio to advance my training with kicking coaches and a better winter climate. I am concentrating on my ultimate goal of playing at the professional level and doing all the preparation necessary to be ready for when I receive my chance. I am currently working out six days a week and kicking at least four of those days. I meet with a kicking specialist at least once a week to continually improve my performance as well as meet with a lifting instructor to stay on pace with proper off season training.
What or who is your inspiration. How did you come to that conclusion?
My inspiration is and has always been my younger sister Carly. When Carly was 2 years old she was diagnosed with a very rare genetic disorder that affects her height and strength tremendously. Growing up has been difficult beyond anything imaginable for her between the twenty plus major surgeries she has had, to the regular day to day tasks she will never be able to do that someone without her disorder would normally take for granted. She turns 19 this march and I’m not sure if you could find a more positive and outgoing person in the world than her. She has always been my biggest fan and I stay very humble knowing that there was a 25 percent chance at birth that I could have been born exactly like her. Her strength pushes me to be a better person in every way. When I am in the classroom or on the field I work that much harder knowing that she will never have the chances or opportunities that have and are still coming forth in my life.
What are some of the contributions you made to your previous program? What about the local community?
A few things I have done in the local community include donating to the women’s domestic violence shelter and participating in their annual ‘walk a mile in her shoes’ event the two years I was living there. I have also volunteered in the local elementary schools, working with children through the big brother big sister program, I have given speeches to the middle schools about the importance of hard work and staying in school, and I have volunteered at the local library setting up for book sales and other events.