Christian Saulsberry | University of West Alabama | RB

Twitter: @SaulsberryEra | Instagram: @christian_saulsberry2


Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting process was like. Why did you choose West Alabama?

A: I chose The University of West Alabama because I saw an opportunity to get some of the best coaching on the D2 level, but also to be under the leadership of Christian me who would promote my growth in Christ and as a man.

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: My biggest accomplishment was my transition from public to private school my junior year in high school. I was a part of a team that change the culture of the football program at our private institution which resulted in the team improving from a 4-6 season the year before I arrived to going 13-1 with an appearance in the State Championship and ending as State runnner-ups my senior year. Although we did not win the state championship, the program, the support from staff/student body/faculty, and recruiting for myself and other teammates all changed. It was not a personal accomplishment but a collective group effort.

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at  West Alabama?

 A: Taking advantage of every opportunity you get. 

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: interdisciplinary Studies with a concentration in Sports Management.  I plan on being a football coach or a sports agent 

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: I feel like my teammates would say that I truly love the game, understand the game, celebrates others achievements, willing to put the work in, but most importantly I put others before myself.

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

My senior year in high school in the playoffs I ran the opening kickoff  back 99yds for a TD. My senior year in college against Tusculum I had 4 catches for 121 yards and 2 TDs in the first half. 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A:  My biggest challenge was getting really sicl with appendicitis at the end of spring semester (Freshman year). I went to the doctor the first time and they didn’t find anything. A week later I was diagnosed with appendicitis (ruptured).  I had emergency surgery and the doctor said it was a race against time to keep the infection out of my blood stream and as a result I had a long drain tube inserted to hopefully remove any remaining infection. It delayed my summer workouts and I had to work twice as hard to get back in shape and gained the drastic weight (25 lbs) I loss as a result of the illness.  

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: Tarik Cohen—we are the same height. He does some of the same things.  I love playing running back and receiver, plus he’s a return specialist

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: I’m versatile. I can line up in the backfield, the slot, or at quarterback and either run or throw. I can create matchups. 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back”/”pay it forward” in your community?

A: Yes. I’ve Fed the homeless at the Memphis Union Mission, worked Field of Dreams at a local ballpark (Snowden Grove) in our area, (Field of Dreams is a mini-complex for handicapped and developmentally challenge children and adults) and worked some youth football camps with the latest being one held by Malcolm Butler (Tennessee Titans).

Q: How are you preparing for the 2020 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: I am training and working on everything shown in past combines in hopes of displaying much more speed, flexibility and versatility.  My main goal is to shock the world with the athletic ability I have.  

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: Just to show people I can play with anyone on the NFL level dispute my height and to eliminate the whole height viewpoint from the conversation (if the athletic ability of the athlete supports it), win a Super Bowl, and be in the Hall of Fame

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: Spending time with family. 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: My Grandfather—even being diagnosed with heart disease and having open heart surgery at 22 years of age. He did not allow his condition to slow him down and went on to have a great career as a truck driver before passing away in 2009.

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: I love to laugh and make people smile.