Darrius Hicks | Fort Valley State University | OL

Twitter: @HumbleBeast7998 | Instagram: @big_hicks79


Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting process was like. Why did you choose Fort Valley State?

A: Throughout my recruitment process, I got a lot of “looks” but never any real offers. The closest were preferred walk- ons so I was prepared to walk on at Auburn, but one summer day in July, I received a call from Fort Valley State and they offered me a scholarship. It worked out well for me because Fort Valley is far away enough for me to expand but close enough to where I can get home if needed.

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: I think being an All-region player as well as being selected to the Don Hansen All super region team were both my greatest accomplishments in my collegiate career. They kept me both humble and hungry to be better.

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at Fort Valley State?

A: An abundance of things the coaching staff did and said will forever hold an impression on me. Coach Porter always told us to control what we control and to never get comfortable where you are and I use those very words everyday to better myself  

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

 A: my major is biology and in football doesn’t work out like I want it to, I will continue to pursue in the career of being a pediatrician. However I would like to work under one as a physicians assistant first and work my way up.

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

 A: They’d probably say I’m a great player and a silent leader. Also that I’m full of potential and have league size and potential 

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A: My junior year homecoming game when I caught a pass and got a touchdown! (It was taken back though)

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: I would say my biggest challenge is doing my very best then topping that. It’s always a challenge but a challenge I love.

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: I tend not to compare myself to others but I like to model my style of play after that of La’el Collins. His strength and effort causes him to knock defender senseless and his speed is amazing on screens. This just goes to show that he is an unstoppable machine when he’s on the field like I aspire to be.

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: What separates me is my willingness to put in the work required and then some! I have a motor and I’m driven by my family. I bring undeniable effort to the game. If blessed with the opportunity to be a part of ANY professional team, it won’t be taken for granted. I’m willing to learn and sacrifice for whoever picks me up and I’m ready to work! 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back”/”pay it forward” in your community?

A: I am not involved in a charity of any sort but when given the chance or when the opportunity arises, I like to coach up those who are younger than me and teach them what I know. On a larger scale, if I do get to a position where I can give back, I will.

Q: How are you preparing for the 2020 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: I will participate in the nfl pro day at Kennesaw State University as well as the National Scouting Combine. I’ve already participated in the HBCU Spirit of America Bowl and I train daily to prepare myself for different physical tests. I will continue my training in Atlanta. My goals are to make a remarkable impression on scouts and anyone else who sees me perform in to do I love to the best of my abilities. 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: To change the way my family is living for the better and to establish  a financial freedom for my family to come would be the ultimate achievement in my eyes. As long as I can give back to those who invested so much into me, I will feel at ease.

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: when I am not playing football, I am probably going to be on my game, watching TV, or working out. Besides football, there’s not much more that I do.

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: I would have to say my mother. She has shown me the true meaning of strength over the 21 years of my life. Being a single mother and having to fend for three kids all by herself is one of the things I had to watch her do and it has made me a better man. Her determination to make sure her children are set up to be successful is enough to drive me and work my hardest

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: Something unique about me is that although I am currently in undergrad, I graduated high school with my associates degree. Also something that may surprise people is my choice of career-a pediatrician. It’s not every day you see a 6‘5 300 lb doctor.