National Scouting Combine presents QB Mylik Mitchell

Mylik Mitchell


Ferris State

6’3” 210 lbs

X: _chekkmate

IG: Mylik0


•Ferris State Record Holder for passing yards in a game (508 yards)

•Ferris State Athletics 2022-2023 Jimmy Swears Courage Award Recipient

•3X GLIAC Football Player of The Week award

•2X Division 2 Player of The Week award

Q: How’d you end up at your current school? What was the recruiting process like? 

A: I played at Kent State starting in 2015. I redshirted and then earned the starting role my second season as a redshirt freshman. I left Kent State in 2017 and sat out 2 years in order to use the 2 year sit out rule. During that time I worked jobs, the final one being employed at Georgia Pacific as a corrugator operator. During my time at the job, I trained to stay in shape in my off time while contacting old players and coaches I had known from Kent State. Because of sitting out 2 years my eligibility clock on the D1 level was limited to 1 year. I decided to play D2 football to fulfill my opportunity and the coach who recruited me to Kent State out of high school was now the Assistant Head Coach at Ferris State.

Q: What gives you an advantage over other athletes at your position?

A: I believe my warrior/scrappy mindset and play and the ability to hone in on it is something that gives me an edge over other QBs and is a big reason why my teammates will accept my leadership and energy. I also think my ability to make split decisions and extend plays in and outside the pocket when everything is hectic is a strength of mine and separates me from many players playing my position. I am also accurate from different arm slots giving me the ability to maneuver defenders and make off schedule throws.

Q: What does being a student of a game mean to you?

A: I think being a student of the game requires commitment through listening to coaches, film study habits, training, and even leisure activities. Any way to better yourself as an athlete can help your play in game situations. I believe your ability to evolve with the sport and the position you play is also big in terms of studying the game. You have to be able to update your skill level and change styles to fit what coaches are asking for.

Q: How does being a QB reflect itself in your personal life?

A: I think playing QB and being a QB off the field has almost become my personal life. Being a QB along with getting the college experience/education combined with the other experiences in my life have developed me into a person of understanding, a person of passion, a man who can interact with all walks of people, and a leader by way of serving.

Q: How would you describe your work ethic?

A: I’m relentless when a task needs to be done.  once I start it’s hard for me to stop.

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff?

A: The value of loyalty

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: Winning back to back National Championships and graduating college the same day.

Q: How did you hear about the National Scouting Combine?

A: I was contacted by a representative from the combine about an opportunity to showcase my abilities. I mentioned the combine to a few people in my professional football circle and they informed me the combine was a great opportunity and that it could lead to other ones as well.

Q: Why did you choose the National Scouting Combine?

A: I had offers to participate in other all star events but this one timed up with my personal life best. I was moving states and getting my daughter situated so this was perfect timing for me. I also like the set up of the event in terms of length and appreciate Jimmy Kibble and his whole staff for putting on a 4 day event.

Q: What do you hope to show people at the combine?

A: I want to show my athletic ability at my size. I will show my ability to lead a group, my enjoyment to be coached, I will showcase my ability to get through reads quickly and dissect secondaries. I hope to also show my ability to extend plays and find guys down field for big time plays and scores.

Q: What was your major?

A: Bachelor of Science

Q:  If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

A: I try to just do my part to help the world and people I come across every day knowing that whatever positive energy I put out is going somewhere. But, If I could make a positive impact with one thing, I would end the cycle of currency and start a bartering system where you trade goods that you produce for goods that you need.

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: I’m just a regular guy man. 

Q: If you had the opportunity to play another sport professionally, what sport would you choose?

A: Baseball Easily. I would’ve been a lefty pitcher throwing 105mph fastballs. 24 year HOF career. Hahaha

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or “pay it forward” in your community?

A: since I was young I’ve been involved in opportunities to give back. My grandmother started many organizations which had me involved in things like “yard charge” and “fresh coat Cleveland” where we raked leaves and painted houses of elderly residents throughout the city. I’ve also been involved in mentoring and charity with young children from the inner city where we take children from the area to events like the circus, amusement parks, live plays, and sporting events.