Peyton Kendrick | Western New Mexico University | Quarterback 

Twitter: @kendrick_peytonInstagram: @peytonkendrick12

Name: Peyton Kendrick

School: Western New Mexico university

Position: Quarterback

Twitter: @kendrick_peyton

Instagram: @peytonkendrick12

Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting process was like?

A: My college career was a very eventful one. Out of high school I traveled all the way up to Minnesota To play for Minnesota West Technical and Community college and racked up record breaking passing yards and touchdowns for my school. As well as being a top ranked Quarterback nationally being 3rd in the nation. I also was on deans list and was All division, All MCAC Elite team, and judo All-American. I had a bunch of offers after my juice days were over, but I settled with Western New Mexico because it was closest to home with for my daughter and fiancé.

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: I think the biggest accomplish isn’t the wins or awards its making lifelong friends and getting the opportunity to travel all over the country playing a sport and getting my education payed for. The most recent accomplishment is finishing off my college career with a bowl game victory! Being able to share that with my teammates and brothers was very important to me and was a great experience.

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at Western New Mexico?

A: I learned from Coach Tristan my head coach to take whatever life throws at you with graciousness, humbleness, and to find the positive in every negative.

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: My major is Interdisciplinary Studies with major concentrations in Kinesiology, Physical Education, Rehabilitation, and Psychology with a minor in Coaching. I plan to try and look for opportunities in Coaching or broadcasting, because I love everything sports. I can’t imagine me working in any other field, but with sports!

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: I would hope it would be leadership and the fight to never give up and always strive for success. 

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A:  It has to be in Juco with 45 seconds left in the game down three ball on the 30 and we drive all the way down to the 17. The play before I was sandwiched in between two defenders and they hit my knee and head. I come back into the game after we call a timeout with 13 seconds left to throw the game winning touchdown in the back of the end zone.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: I don’t think there has been any big challenges except for just finding new ways to train and grind to be even more successful. I can manage this by just paying attention to peers and being acceptable for change and knowing how to adapt

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: I know I don’t come anywhere close just yet, but I would like to compare myself to Drew Bree’s. Kind of on the short side in NFL terms being 6’2, but the arm talent and mindset, as well as his football knowledge of the game is were I fi

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: My arm talent forsake and my mind with the game. I feel at any time I know what the defense is throwing at me and can adapt in game and even mid play. As well as my innate nature to learn and willingness to do anything to become the best quarterback in the league.

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back”/”pay it forward” in your community?

A: No I have not but given the opportunity to do so I would without a doubt. This has always been something that I would love to create as well, because Tucson doesn’t have too many charities and mentorships. Especially after working for Arizona Autism as a nurse/caretaker and big brother it really made me want to help out more. 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2020 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: I am preparing with my old high school teammate DQ we run hills, cone drills, condition, and work on routes, as well as lift and workout to insure I am at my peak performance level to compete.

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: My ultimate achievement would be never stopping. Always grinding to be the best and be successful with any and every opportunity given to me! 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

 A: I enjoy just getting active, whether that is running working out, playing other sports, hanging with friends. I just love the game so it is very rarely you find me not with a ball in my hand.

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: It has to be my fiancé Taylor she has always been there for me and has helped me through everything. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t learn something from her and she single handily has made me into the man I am today!

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: I really am just a man who loves football, loves the game, and already has started a beautiful family with my Daughter Kynsley and beautiful Fiancé Taylor and our two dogs!