Select Page

Darrin Gentry | Midland University | WR 

Twitter: @Juice_man_2


Q: Tell us about your college (or pro) career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like. Why did you choose (Midland University)?
A: My College career was a great experience indeed, I loved every part of and wouldn’t trade for nothing, thank the man above for allowing me to get to this point and now I will be walking away with a Degree at the end of the spring semester and a chance to play at the next level, that’s what I’ve always dreamed of. My recruiting process was fairly easy, I had some D2 schools and some Other NAIA Schools but I felt like midland was home, also my brother from my Juco attended Midland so it made the initial decision much easier.
 
 
Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?
A: The biggest Accomplishment so far is just being able to play at the college level, that in itself was big for me because growing up, I knew I could get here but I know it would take hard work and dedication. In all honesty though, as far as my biggest accomplishment in sports, I feel like it’s yet to come, just wait on it.
 
Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at (Midland University )?
A: One thing that I feel will always stick with me was play like it’s your last game or last play, whether that is in practice or the game, you never know when your career will end, so play full speed like and to your full capability.
 
Q: How was your career impacted due to the 2020 pandemic and what have you learned from the adversity?
A: Well it impacted my senior season, we had to cancel 3 of our games but I’m just so grateful that we were even able to play this season. A lot of guys weren’t able to play due to the pandemic, so I’m thankful that we were able too. One thing I learned from it is how to deal with adversity at a very high level, having to go through different test and having to take our temperature and check in at certain times, you know guys weren’t used to that, it actually helped our team become closer and we became one unit.
 
Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?
A: I’m a sociology major and if football does not work out, I’m looking to become and therapist and work with at risk kids.
 
Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?
A: They would say that I’m a team first kind of guy and I just want to win. They would say I work hard on and off the field and like I said, they would say I just want to win.
 
Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?
A: I would say my most memorable play would be my first year at midland, my little brother DT scored on a Kick Return, I made two pivotal blocks to help him score, so I would say that’s my most memorable play.
 
Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?
A: One of my biggest challenges was coming out of high school, I believe I was 150 pounds, I took the juco route and for those who think Juco players are not good, then you have another thing coming, it was tough because I was going up against guys who were grown men. I’m a competitor so I definitely competed, They separated themselves because of their work ethic in the weight room and definitely showed on the field. I knew I needed to put some muscle on and that’s always been a challenge for me. I’m sitting at 195 right now, at a certain point, you have to adapt.
 

One thing that I feel will always stick with me was play like it’s your last game or last play, whether that is in practice or the game, you never know when your career will end, so play full speed like and to your full capability.

~ Darrin Gentry

 
Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?
A: I would say that I compare to some one like Aquan Boldin, I say this because this guy is one of the best to ever do it. He’s a reliable pass catcher and he knows how to get open. I feel I hold some of the same qualities that he does. His routed were smooth to where he looked like he was trying. So I feel like I would compare myself to him most definitely.
 
Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?
A: My biggest strength would probably be that I can bring a little bit of everything to the table. I feel my hands are great and I can really go get the ball. Getting in and out of my routes as well as well as my speed and quickness. When I actually get the ball, I can make guys miss or run over them. I can also block pretty good, so you should consider me because I can do a little bit of everything.
 
Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or ”pay it forward” in your community?
A: Well I have done community work before and also charity work, like giving food to the homeless and things like that. Also helped with camps at my high school.
 
 
Q: How are you preparing for the 2021 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?
A: I’m preparing myself by working on things that will help me in the combine, explosive work and speed work as well. My goals is to just be myself and not do anything out of my character and just blow the scouts minds away with my abilities.
 
 
Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?
A: My ultimate achievement would to further my football career to the next level, I’ve been dreaming of that since I was young, Also helping my family with whatever they need, they’ve been on this journey with me so I feel like it would be time to give back to them.
 
Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?
A: Honestly I like basketball as well and just relaxing. I also like to bake, cakes, cookies, brownies or whatever.
 
Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?
A: One positive impact would be that everyone is equal. That people shouldn’t be treated a certain because of their race, gender, religion or culture. I feel everyone is equal and nobody should be treated different. The reason I say this is because my parents always told me to treat people the way that you want to be treated and I know I don’t like getting treated unfairly, so why should anyone else be treated that way.
 
Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?
A: The most influential person in my life has to be my mom. She has made so many sacrifices for me and my siblings and we have had some tough times, but she has always made a way. I just tip my hat off to her and she has made me into the man I am today. She had never missed a game and I can’t thank her enough. So I would say my mom.
 
Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?
A: something unique I would say that, I listen to all types of music no matter what Genre. If you look at my repertoire of music in my phone, you’d be amazed.
 
Q: What is your dream job?
A: My dream Job obviously is to be in the Nfl one day but I would say maybe like sports analyst or a sports caster