Select Page

Jevon Shaw | Ferris State | WR

Twitter: @Callme__JT | Instagram: @jevon_shaw


Jevon Shaw – WR – Ferris State

Q: Tell us about your college (or pro) career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like. Why did you choose Ferris State University?

A: Honestly, the recruiting process was rough because I came out of high school as a quarterback. I was 5’8” 175 pounds and not too many colleges are looking for a smaller QB. Ferris was one of the only schools to really give me a legit scholarship and bring me in as a Quarterback. I had a lot of “interest” but by my senior year I only had one offer and that was Ferris State. I took a visit there my Junior year of high school and decided that this is the place for me.

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: My biggest accomplishment in my sports career so far would be going to the DII National Championship game in 2018, and throwing and 80-yard TD pass, which is the longest in a DII national championship game.

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at Ferris State University?

A: The most important things I learned from my Coaches at Ferris State is that hard work and dedication go a long way. I also learned a sense of what family is. The coaches made sure the team was close and that we connected not just on the field but off the field as well. Lastly, they taught me what it meant to be a winner and that’s something that I will use in all aspects of my life.

 My ultimate achievement would be able to tell/show my son that his dad got the opportunity to play at the highest level there is. Teaching him to grow up to be a winner and how to work hard, and hopefully one day he can follow in my footsteps, but I want him to be better of course.

Q: How was your career impacted due to the 2020 pandemic and what have you learned from the adversity?

A: The pandemic stopped me from having a pro-day. Also, in the process my agent dropped me and just flat out stopped talking to me. I had some good film but a pro-day would have really did me justice if I had that opportunity. Something I learned from this pandemic is how to have patience, and that what is meant to be will happen but you can’t give up on your dream. I’ve been training since last March and that’s what I plan to keep doing until this pandemic is over.

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: I majored in Sports Communication w/ a minor in Marketing. Once football is done for me, I want to own my own business training athletes and mentoring them; teaching high school and college athletes the things that no one had taught me when I was going through the recruiting and pro-day process.

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: I believe that they would say I am very passionate about everything that I do. They would also say that I work hard and I fight through adversity whenever it comes my way. I believe my teammates know that I would’ve done whatever it takes for us to win.

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A: The most memorable plays for me came in the Grand Valley State game in 2018, where I threw the game-winning TD pass on a trick play to win us the anchor-bone trophy. Also, in the playoffs against the Northwest Missouri State game my senior year, I took a WR screen 69 yards in the 4th quarter to really break the game open.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: My biggest challenge I think was having a child while I was in college. Being in school, playing football, and his mother living 3 hours away from me at the time made it really hard to see my son. I missed a lot time in his infant years and that’s time I know I’ll never get back, but I give credit to his mom for being very understanding and being who she is and taking really good care of him. Once I graduated, I was able to make up for the time I missed and it is amazing watching my son grow.

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: Steve Smith Sr.. I say this because we are both undersized guys, who were overlooked and steady play with a chip on our shoulder. He was so passionate about the game of football and proving people wrong which I can relate to so much. He makes plays with what he has, and that’s all I’ve been doing my whole life too.

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: My biggest strength is that I can play anywhere on the football field. Special teams, offense, defense, I can literally do it all. Like I said I make plays, I might not be a flashy guy but when it comes down to it, I flat out make plays. Off the field I could bring unity to a team, leadership, and a sense of family. I believe that professional teams would be getting a guy they can depend on day and night to get things done on the field and off the field.

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or ”pay it forward” in your community?

A: As of now, I help coach WR/QB @ South Lyon East High school here in Michigan. On Sundays I also coach WR’s along with mentoring them every Tuesday night, hosting leadership meetings where we discuss what kind of people we want to be off the football field.

 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2021 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: As a part of my preparation for the 2021 NSC, I am training 5 days a week; working on my combine drills along with lifting weights. My goals are to do very well in testing. But most importantly my goal is to really SHINE in position drills, catch every ball, and run really efficient routes.

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: My ultimate achievement would be able to tell/show my son that his dad got the opportunity to play at the highest level there is. Teaching him to grow up to be a winner and how to work hard, and hopefully one day he can follow in my footsteps, but I want him to be better of course.

 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: I enjoy hanging out with friends, relaxing and watching movies. I like to read and write so if I’m not doing football, then that’s most likely what I’m doing. I’m a pretty simple guy if you ask me.

 

Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

A: An impact I would make on society is making sure we are all educated and not looking at life under one telescope. What I mean by that is, we all should have our own way of thinking and take pride in it; but we should always be educated and not naïve to the things that go on around us in everyday life.

 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: My son Andre. He makes me want to be a better person, a better father, football player, everyday. He is the reason why I want this so bad. I want to be able to give him the world one day, or at least die trying.

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: I think it would be how diverse I can be. How I am able to interact with all types of demographics and be able to communicate with different types of people.

 

Q: What is your dream job?

A: My dream Job is to own my own Training business. Open my own studio strictly for training athletes and people want to incorporate fitness into their lives.