Joe Bonner | Nicholls State | OL


OL – Joe Bonner

Q: Tell us about your college (or pro) career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like. Why did you choose (NORTH PARK)?

A: I visited a few schools such as ole miss. Miss state USM but ultimately signed to nicholls state. I chose this school because it wasn’t too big of a school and I didn’t feel like I would be lost in the shuffle. Their schedule was great as well. Starting my junior year off playing Tulsa and my senior year going to oregon to play them while they were #2 in the nation. 

 

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: My biggest accomplishment was bringing my mother happiness every time she watched me suit up. She would work extra shifts all week just to watch me play for a couple hours!

 

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at (NORTH PARK)?

A: A coach once told me to always be ready regardless of the situation and it has been with me for years. The biggest dream killer is the lack of preparation not talent! 

 

Q: How was your career impacted due to the 2020 pandemic and what have you learned from the adversity?

A: 2020 was the best thing to happen to me because it put the important things into perspective.

 

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: My major was interdisciplinary studies and I will continue to provide for my family

 

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: I’m sure they all would say they loved me as a teammate because of the optimism I bring to the table. Nicholls had a 1-11 record for 3 years before I made it. The 1st 6 games of my senior year we were 4-2 with a major upset over western Michigan. It was the same guys on the team but the mindset changed. 

 

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A: Making a play on Deanthony Thomas who  runs a 4.3 and I weighed about 345 lbs. 

 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: My biggest challenge was my weight. I didn’t realize how important it was to take care of your body. I understand that diet and exercise will keep you at your peak level. 

 

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: It’s hard to compare myself or my situation to any other.. I’m attempting to make history and the only way I can do that is work as hard as I can and maintain a consistent focus. Maybe a Marcus Allen. 

 

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: I bring a work ethic that I feel could change any teams culture 

2020 was the best thing to happen to me because it put the important things into perspective.

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or ”pay it forward” in your community?

A: I have worked with some of the younger high school football players

 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2021 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: I’m currently doing 6-8 workouts/runs a week and added yoga into my routine a few months ago. My biggest goal is to garner the attention of a professional club and start training this summer. I know that my preparation will get me the numbers I want.

 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A: My ultimate achievement would be me getting signed to a team. 

 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: I enjoy spending time with my son. He has been the most humbling thing to ever happen to me. 

 

Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

A: I would change the way people viewed each other and to show people that we are all the same on the inside.

 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: My mother is the most influential person in my life because she truly loves me and people in general but never expects anything back. Just a good hearted person who wants to help those in need. 

 

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: I am a true movie lover. When I was 15 my grandpa showed me thousands of movies that he collected over the years and I feel like I will be that extreme when it comes to how many movies I watch lol.

 

Q: What is your dream job?

A: All pro NFL lineman.