Select Page

Shaq Davidson | Jacksonville State University | WR

Twitter: @Ace_Boogie_4 | Instagram: @ShaqDavidson4


Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting process was like. Why did you choose University of South Carolina /Jacksonville State University?

 My college career was a journey that led me to Jacksonville state. I started my career in 2014 I enrolled at the University of South Carolina. I red shirted my first year due to tearing my ACL. 2015 The following year I had recovered from that and was doing good in fall camp up until a week before the first game then I suffered another ACL tear in my other leg. I was devastated but me being me I fought to get back. While in the process of getting back healthy our head coach stepped down which led me to transferring to Jacksonville State. 2016: played in nine games my first season at JSU, including the first five of the season…hauled in 10 passes for 155 yards and two touchdowns on the year…recorded my first collegiate catch in JSU’s season opener against North Alabama on Sept. 1… Had two catches in each of the season’s first four games…caught my first touchdown Sept. 24 at Liberty…had two catches for 14 yards against LSU on Sept. 10…hauled in a 69-yard pass which was my longest catch of the season. 2017: Started all 12 games. Made my first career start Aug. 26 in the season opener against Chattanooga in Montgomery, had in 30 catches for 346 yards for the second-most receptions and receiving yards among the team (Demontez Terry, 33 catches, 385 yards) …ranked sixth on the team with 346 all-purpose yards, accounted for three tds that year. 2018: Played in 8 games… missed a few weeks due to illness. Returned in the first round of the playoffs against East Tennessee State. Recorded my first three td game, which helped us come from behind to advance to the next round. Had 21 catches for 243 yards and 4 tds for the season.

HIGH SCHOOL: Played at Gaffney High School under Dan Jones, where I threw for 1,539 yards and 13 touchdowns while rushing for 762 yards and seven touchdowns as the starting quarterback in route to an 8-4 record as a senior…U.S. Army All-American…played in Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas…Considered a four-star prospect, 22nd-best wide receiver in the country and No. 120 overall by Scout…Rivals ranked me as a three-star prospect, third-best player in South Carolina and 56th-best wide receiver in the country…ESPN considered me a four-star prospect, ranked me No. 146 on its ESPN300 list,17th-best wide receiver in the nation and fourth-best player in the state…PrepStar ranked me as a four-star prospect. Had 11 offers and I ended up committing to South Carolina over Auburn on National signing day.

 

Q: what do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing?

One of the most important things I learned from the coaches while playing in college is you have to be available/consistent. If you’re not available for the team, then you can’t help contribute to the team. If you’re not consistent then the team can’t trust you/count on you in big moments.

 

Q: How was your career impacted due to the 2020 pandemic and what have you learned from the adversity?

2020 was tough for me because I spent the whole 2019 preparing for it because I had my mind set that I would get my opportunity to live out my dream by playing pro football but the pandemic put a hold on that. I’ve faced/overcame adversity my whole life/career so this is nothing new to me and I am very confident that my dreams will come true because I believe in God and I have also put in the hard work/dedication.

 

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work?

Football is going to work. I’m speaking it into existence. After football I plan on coaching or opening my own gym/training facility. My major at JSU was intergraded studies and I’m getting my masters in sport management.

One of the most important things I learned from the coaches while playing in college is you have to be available/consistent. If you’re not available for the team, then you can’t help contribute to the team. If you’re not consistent then the team can’t trust you/count on you in big moments.

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities? 

I believe they would say I’m a playmaker, have the best hands, led by example, the X-factor.

 

Q: what has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

In high school my most memorable play was my first catch of my varsity career I broke about five tackles and scored a td from about 60 yards out. In college I would say the whole game against East Tennessee State because I had 3 tds and I had just came back that week from having an illness.

 

Q: what has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

My biggest challenges have been staying healthy. I tore both ACLS but I’ve recovered from both. Its real not much you can do to be 100% safe from tearing your ACL but I do ACL prevention stretches and rehab daily to help keep me from getting injured again.

 

Q: IF you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why? 

I would compare myself to Stefon Diggs because he runs great routes, has great hands, a playmaker, and a dog. All of that also applies to me.

 

Q: what is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

I believe my biggest strength is being a reliable guy in big moments. I think pro scouts should consider me because I am versatile I can play slot as well as outside. I’m a team player so whatever they need me to do I will do it for the team.

 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you give back or pay it forward in your community?

As of right now I am the ISS instructor at Gaffney middle school. I also help mentor some of the students here in the school. I don’t do any charity as of right now but after I make it I defiantly plan on doing so.

 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2021 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

I am preparing for the National Scouting Combine with DJ Johnson he is the owner of the xtra inch training out of Greenville, South Carolina. My goals are to run a 4.4 or better, jump 10 ft broad, 35 or better vertical, and show how reliable my hands are.

 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

My ultimate achievement would be making the NFL to show kids from my hometown that it is possible and after I make it give back to the community/ be a resource that the upcoming kids/athletes can use to help achieve their goals.

 

Q: what do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

I enjoy watching football/basketball, playing basketball, playing madden/2k, and grilling with family and friends.

 

Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

I would try to bring unity to the society. Personally I think that we are divided and that we all need to come together as one and the world would be so much better.

 

Q: who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

The most influential person in my life is my grandmother. She has been there for me since day one. I can always count on her no matter the situation. She is going to let me know whenever I am and also whenever I am right. She has had me playing sports since I was four years old. I’ve watched her raise kids that were not hers and loved them as she loved us. She’s just a great woman with a big heart that shares a lot of love.

 

Q: what is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

I’m kind of boring to be honest, I’m real chill and laid back most of the time.

 

Q: what is your dream job?

My dream job is playing in the NFL of course. Other than that it would be being able to make money while I’m home with the family making memories.