Select Page

Trevante Coleman | Grand View University | RB

Twitter: @Trecoleman11 | Instagram: @ThaZooCeo


Trevante Coleman – RB – Grand View University

Q: Tell us about your college (or pro) career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like?

A: My college career started when  I moved out to California couple months after high school. All by myself I was really part of the JUCO struggle. I am a real JUCO product. As I attended JUCO I had pretty decent numbers but I was really not recruited heavily 2015-16 2016-2017. I did my two years I still did not have a offer so then  I got comfortable. Being able to go to the beach and chill out whenever I want to can soak you in real quick and me never having nothing or been around that kinda changed me, But I had to I realize that I’m here for a reason so I got off my ass in And kept grinding. I ended up going on a buddy system so to say with me and my roommate in junior college. A year and a half after we finished our two years of junior college so I missed out on a season. I ended up at Grandview 2018 and now I have my  degree fall 2020 in earned two conference championships. Now Pursuing my professional career.

 

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: I feel my biggest accomplishments is me never giving up I’ve attended 3 schools in my college career so many ups and downs and for me to just being able to graduate from college and play the game that I love is the biggest accomplishments for me never thought I would be able to graduate I was really not into school seeing that this has taught me so much responsibility so I adapted and it become a lifestyle for me.

 

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at (Enter school name)?

A: Grand View University. Two things that I learned from my coaches we had a phrase saying own it. Own up to your responsibilities in whatever it is. I also learned that Football is not going to always be here you have to think about your future think about how are your gonna support yourself after college know your Plan B.

 

Q: How was your career impacted due to the 2020 pandemic and what have you learned from the adversity?

A: My career was impacted by the pandemic but it kind of work out for the good. We where limited to 6 games but through the six games i was able to receive a lots of film in the mist. I will not be able to play in the college playoffs due to the pandemic since it’s now been moved to the spring an unfortunately I graduated this past December and for me to attend spring I would have to pay out of pocket. So I decided to take on my dreams and enter in to the draft. The pandemic also taught me that this could be my last game of the season and with me being a SR It could be the last game of my career. So I went out and played every game like it was my last. Adversity has been around me my whole life I’ve  learned how to adapted to anything I found that to be a common skill for me and I embrace it. 

 

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: My major is Liberal arts, With liberal arts it’s very  flexible to do a lot. I was really thrown into this major when I entered junior college. It took me probably to junior year or halfway to my sophomore year to realize and to pay attention to my major. With me being in California for the first time right after high school my mind was just everywhere etc. It was really more so for me playing football in junior college then focusing on my degree. After I left junior college and attend  grand view University for my last two years I really buckle down and had thoughts and learned new things about different majors but I just didn’t wanna start over so I embarrassed the major of liberal arts. But what I really want to do if football doesn’t work out is receive another degree and heating and air and plumbing so I could start my own business work for myself. Also be back in the community helping young guys that where in the same position I was in when I was younger trying to make it to the next collegiate level and also being a role model, start my own foundation to help young guys get to college and be successful and out of trouble. 

 

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: My current and last teammates would probably all say the same thing me just being the big brother i was always older then everyone I really played with. I just always had a big brother vibe I will say outgoing I’m not afraid to chase my dreams my teammates would say. My brothers would also say I’m just one of those people that can just fit into any culture type and get along with anyone. The guys would say my attitude was positive on and off the field Even with all the things They know I’ve been through and can never tell. Very fearless and also a big leader always wanting the next person to do better and everyone win.

The pandemic also taught me that this could be my last game of the season and with me being a SR It could be the last game of my career. So I went out and played every game like it was my last.

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A: The most memorable moment for me is probably the championship in junior college. We were playing in the high desert bowl I just made the most Probably the most Craziest Plays I’ve ever did. I was improvising all kinds of stuff I even  caught my first receiving touchdown and also ran over two guys and scored all in one play. Then we end up winning the game that was the junior college first bowl game since 1996 so we maid history now I can say I’m part of history at the university of antelope Valley. And also another Rememberable moment at Grand view university went  back to back conference championships. 

 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: My biggest challenge is just me coming from nothing I’ve been financially unstable for as long as I can remember. Mom really didn’t have anything so I couldn’t really ask her for money and then I will feel like I’m taken from her and my little brother and sister. So with all the schools I’ve been to I’ve  struggle with Money and had to come up with something  I’m 45+ in school loans. When I moved to California to attend junior college straight out of high school that’s when It really started I was really part of the Juco struggle 6 guys in a two bedroom etc. But I knew this is what I really wanted to do so I knew this would come with hell of challenges. There’s been plenty of nights where I went hungry also days with my last meal being at 4o’clock in the evening. My whole life has been a challenge still live in a challenge now even after I have graduated college. There were times where I knew when I come home for school breaks it was never a promise that I was gonna be able to make it back to school I just didn’t have the funds to make it home and be able to return back I just didn’t have it. But I’m taking it day by day! 

 

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why? I really can’t name someone I could compare myself to in the league I’m my own person. With that being said I really don’t know anyone’s struggle or story, but on the field I will just compare myself to any running back that has a drive and passion to be better every chance he gets weather on the practice squad or in real game,  Whether it’s in the backfield or  on special teams they’re giving 100% because that’s exactly what I’m gonna do and have been doing that’s how where the same.

 

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you?

A: My biggest strength as a running back And special-teams threat just knowing the situation and always doing my responsibility at a 110%. Falling forward after every run to gain positive yards always making one cut and getting up field  my type of running style not a lot of dancing holding on to the ball.

 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or ”pay it forward” in your community?

A: I am involved in the boys and girls club of Paducah Kentucky & also a church group called the holy cadets where attend church since I was young. I was a member involved so I always go back and help and give back.

 

 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2021 National Scouting Combine and what are your goals?

A: I’m fortunate to have two workout facilities here in my hometown which I attend weekly until the national combine and after. The guys training me here have watch me since I was younger playing football in high school and they’re doing their best to get me in shape for March 8. My goals to go out there and show my talents to my best abilities staying relaxed just to know what I’m here for. 

 

 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement?

A:  Helping my family make thing happen for them make new opportunities new way of living With that being in the league or not I want to make it happen.

 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: I really enjoy just working out and I’m always chilling around with friends and family and watching movies enjoying life. 

 

Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

A: I would just want to give back make new opportunities for upcoming kids that want to make something happen in the future. There’s not a lot of people around here to help the youth and I feel like I should be one guy that comes back and help out. Definitely with me being into health I would like to open up gyms around my own neighborhood that I’m from and  sports clubs just extra curricular activities for people in the city

 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A:  My mother will probably be the biggest influence on me she has always try to make something happen she’s always been my role model. Being a single mother I feel she did great raising me and my other siblings.

 

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: Something unique that I feel people find interesting about me is that I’m always finding a way to try to help the next person.  Helping someone get better no matter what it is playing a part in a lot of people lives. 

 

Q: What is your dream job?

A: My dream job that I had all my life was to be a fireman. I used to visit fire stations all the time when I was a kid. There was always this one fire station I always went to, my mom used to get her glasses fixed at this repair shop all the time and every time we went there I went across the street and went inside the firehouse The Guys knew me by name.