Davis Howard | New Mexico Highlands | DE/LB 

Twitter: @bigbugg27s | Instagram: @27_reasons_


Q: Tell us about your college career and what the recruiting/scouting process was like. Why did you choose (Enter school name)?

A: The recruiting process was difficult for me at first, because I had some hard times at the schools I went to

prior to NMHU. I chose to go to NMHU because they were willing to give me a chance when things were not looking bright for me, and it felt like a better fit. I found a home at NMHU and got time to red shirt and get my academics up before participating on the field, which was a great benefit in the long-run.

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: In my four years of College football, I have been an active part of 2 winning teams and accumulated 2 Bowl rings for doing my part in this result. I consider that to be one of my biggest accomplishments in my sports career.

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at NMHU?

A: One of the more important things I learned from the NMHU coaching staff is that to be a great athlete I must be both flexible and coachable. Sometimes coaches can give feedback in a “harsh” way but that just means that they are passionate and they care about your success. Being able to listen and make adjustments promptly without excuses and complaints goes a long way.

Q: What was your major and what are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: I majored in university studies with an emphasis in human performance and sports. I have always wanted to be a trainer for middle school and high school kids, so if football doesn’t work out I will be working towards that. Eventually I hope to be able to help the youth in my community by creating a community center with the space for exercise and fitness, so that is the ultimate goal.

Q: What would your current/past teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: My teammates would say that I am passionate about the sport, hardworking, very strong and positive, and that I foster an atmosphere of fun and learning, always encouraging and pushing each other

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career at any level?

A: There was a play in my sophomore year of High School that I will never forget. I had just moved up to the varsity football team, and it was the last game before playoffs. In the fourth quarter with two minutes left on the clock, our arch rivals had the possession and we had to stop them from making it to the end zone. 4th &10: They decided to throw the ball down the middle to the open receiver, so I came across the middle and tackled him. He lost the ball in the collision, bounced off my chest, but I missed it and it fell to the ground. After that play, we got the ball back and won in the end. The adrenaline from the crowd going crazy was intense.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: I think that team politics and favoritism have been my biggest challenge. I believe that there were times that it made fighting for my spot a little harder, and it sometimes took longer for some coaches to see my potential and give me a chance. To manage it, I turn it into motivation to work harder. I realize that if someone is being favored over me, it is because they may be bringing something that I don’t so I make it a point to work hard in every aspect and always give my best. Eventually there will be no reason to discount me and it’s my job to prove that, so I just work harder.

Q: Who was the best player you played against during your collegiate career?

A: Johnathan Charles from my time at Los Angeles Valley Community College is definitely at the top of that list. Luckily for me, he was a teammate so competing with him made me better

Q: If you could compare yourself to a pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A: Von Miller is one I would compare my play too because we both:

  • Play outside linebacker and DE
  • Balance and speed off the edge
  • Are patient players (Blitzers)

Q: What is your biggest strength that you bring to a professional team and why should pro scouts consider you? A: Pro football general managers should draft me because I am relentless and hardworking on the field, giving 150% on every day on every rep, no matter how talented I believe I am. I won’t get comfortable because I know what it is like to live without, and I never want to go back to that again. Off the field, I am just as hardworking and respectful, and they will see that I am someone who can represent their teams in the best way on every front. There’s no audience I can’t influence positively on or off the field and that’s the type of man they want representing them worldwide. I’m that guy.

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back” or ”pay it forward” in your community?

A: At this point in my life, the giving back I am able to do goes to my parents and siblings. I do hope to become successful enough to give back to my entire community. All I can do right now is represent them properly, so that’s what I am going to do.

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football?

A: The things I enjoy outside of football include going fishing, barbecuing, spending time with family,

Q: If you could make a positive impact on all of society what would it be and why?

A: If I could make a positive impact on all of society, I would promote self love because it dictates how we see ourselves, our dreams, and the things we can achieve in life. If everyone is focused on being the best version

of themselves and being more calm and at peace with life, there would be less conflict. Sports has a way of taking care of both the mental and the physical aspects of my life, so I hope to share that with others.

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life?

A: My mother Miss Lorraine Davis and my grandmother Miss Carrie Taff have been the most influential in my life. My mother made sure I was at all practices and games on top of providing for my siblings and I at all times, while my grandmother housed me on days when going back and forth was not possible.

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: I am the 5th of 10+ siblings and I’m the first in my family to complete a college degree

Q: If you had the opportunity to play another sport professionally, what sport would you choose?

A: I would pick Volleyball, because that was the first sport my uncle Louis and I fell in love with

Q: What is your dream jobA: To be the best Pro trainer for every sport in the world