Austin Wysocki | James Madison HS | LB | 2022


Q: Tell us about your high school career and what the recruiting process has been like thus far. 

A: Last year I played JV and Varsity football as a sophomore. On JV I lead my team in tackles and I was a captain. On varsity, I was on special teams and got a few games and reps at linebacker. My school is not very good with recruiting so I have been talking to other coaches that helped my brother get an offer from the University of Oregon, where he plays now.

 

Q: When did you receive your first offer and what school was it from? How many offers have you received thus far? 

A: I have not received an offer as a rising junior

 

Q: What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

A: Going undefeated on JV with 8 shutouts in a row and only allowing 24 points for the whole year

 

Q: What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff while playing at your school?

A: Do your job and trust your teammates to do theirs. Don’t try to do everything yourself.

 

Q: What have you learned during this unique time in 2020? What did you focus on or accomplish during Quarantine?

A: I have learned that not everything goes as planned and that you need to adapt to the circumstances to continue to get better. I focused on getting my lifts up as well as working on quickness. I also played a lot of 7 on 7 with my teammates.

 

Q: If you could play in college, what would you choose to major in? What are your plans if football doesn’t work out?

A: I would choose to major in computer science. If football doesn’t workout, I will continue to pursue my computer science/engineering degrees.

 

Q: What would your current teammates say about you and your qualities?

A: They would say that I’m not the loudest person outside of football but once I put on the pads, I’m a completely different person. I know how to get everyone back on the same page if things go wrong whether it is in school, on the field, or any other situation. I’m committed to getting things done and improving myself anyway I can.  

 

Q: What has been one of the most memorable plays of your career so far?

A: I was playing middle linebacker against Oakton High School. I blitzed through the A gap and got a strip sack to set us up on the 15 yard line.

 

Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how do you manage it?

A: My biggest challenge is being a year younger than everyone on the field. I’ve managed this challenge by working harder than others and finding ways I can be better by watching film and working out.

 

Q: If you could compare yourself to a collegiate or pro athlete, who would that be and why?

A:I would compare myself to Isiah Simmons because I know almost every position on the defense and I am confident that I could play anywhere from middle linebacker to free safety.

 

Q: What is your biggest strength and why should college coaches & scouts consider you?

A: My biggest strength is my ability to play multiple positions. I have had the chance to study almost every position on the defense and I have no doubt that I could play each of them at the varsity level. I also think another strength is my football IQ. I have been playing football since I was 6 years old and I have played almost every position for both offense and defense. This has allowed me to read plays and formations a lot better, as well as know other peoples jobs on the field.

 

Q: Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you “give back”/”pay it forward” in your community?

A: I am a part of a organization called Young Men’s Service League. This organization is meant for giving back to the community and helping others in need. We are required to do at least 25 hours of service hours each year and go to at least 5 meeting which are held every month. I have learned a lot from guest speakers that have spoke at the meetings and it has changed my way of thinking.

 

Q: How are you preparing for the 2020 High School National Scouting Combine and what are your goals for the combine?

A:I have been going to morning workouts with my team 3 times and week as well as doing speed training on my own time. My big goal for the combine is to run somewhere around 4.8 for the 40 yard dash. I also want to prove that I can play at the higher level.

 

Q: What would be your ultimate achievement? 

A: To earn a full ride to a D1 school for football.

 

Q: What do you enjoy doing when not playing football? Do you play other sports? 

A: I played lacrosse for 8 years but took a break last year. I intend on playing my junior year if we are able to. I also like to go play pick up basketball with my friends.

 

Q: Who is or has been the most influential person in your life? 

A: The most influential person in my life was my brother because he has inspired me to work hard and achieve my goals as he did. He got a PWO to his dream school which was the University of Oregon. He also gives me a lot of advise about football and helped train me to become better. I am also determined to be better than him so that I can make my mark.

 

Q: What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

A: One of my favorite hobbies is solving Rubik’s cubes.