National Scouting Combine presents LB Cortlind Mallory

Position: OLB/DE

School: Trine University 

HT/WT: 6’2 230lbs 

X: @almigghty_c

Instagram: @almigghty.c


How’d you end up at your current school? What was the recruiting process like?

  • I started my collegiate career at the university of St. Francis. After 4 years I knew it was best to part ways in hopes to fulfill the end of my collegiate career. I was blessed to be a part of two successful seasons at Trine and conclude as a starter. The recruiting process was tricky I wanted to find a home and not just another school , Trine was able to help give me the opportunity to continue my collegiate career.

What gives you an advantage over other athletes at your position?

  • Some things that give me an advantage are my explosiveness and being able to be technical and fundamentally sound in any scheme. With my size and skills just having the ability to be disruptive at different spots.

What does being a student of a game mean to you?

  • Being a student of the game goes beyond studying film, scheme Install and player personnel. These are just the basics of football the way to beat your opponent is always thinking steps ahead and out the box is key. When studying film, I like the picking up on little habits. Even something so small can deter a loss to a win in any game.

How does being an LB reflect itself in your personal life?

  • Playing defense is the way life presents is action to reaction. Especially playing linebacker you have the responsibility to be disruptive at all levels. But in life how you react to any situation will determine the outcome.

How would you describe your work ethic?

  • I take to honor-ship in my work ethic, I believe that there is no such thing at quit even through injury, a loss , and more I owe not to others but myself to always fight on no matter one hand or one leg. The work will not always show at your time but when the time is right.

What do you consider to be one of the more important things you learned from the coaching staff?

  • The most important thing I learned it’s not about being a player maker/superstar doing your job wins ballgames. 11 members all working as 1 unit by doing their job and responsibilities at that position. By doing that you’re selfless and a playmaker.

What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment in your sports career so far?

  • I would say winning a state championship was stellar moment for along with being a part of national championship caliber team having the feeling of being in the playoffs in my early years of my collegiate career.

How did you hear about the National Scouting Combine?

  • I have known about the National Scouting Combine being from the Indianapolis area and it was my goal in my last year to hopefully receive and pro day or combine invite and this was my exact opportunity I needed.

Why did you choose the National Scouting Combine?

  • This is an opportunity that I was blessed with I had to turn down other all-star opportunities due to conflictions but I’m grateful NSC is taking a chance on kid from Naptown.

 What do you hope to show people at the combine?

  • I want to show that I’m not just a NAIA/Dlll player just because I’m a low-level player within in that level of competition doesn’t mean I can’t play football and compete levels of play don’t define you.

What was your Major?

  • I graduated in December 2023 with Criminal Justice & Criminology 

If you could make a positive impact on all of society, what would it be and why?

  • I believe the most positive impact you can make is something in society that has already been set in stone by just “paying it forward” everyday someone you never talk to or come across will either have a bad day or good day your presence and actions help impact not only for that day but in the future as well.

What is something unique about you that people would find interesting?

  • Something Interesting about me that people would find interesting is that I know how to read music and can play the clarinet. 

If you had the opportunity to play another sport professionally, what sport would you choose?

  • My main secondary sport was wrestling so if I had that opportunity to, I would consider wrestling professionally in the Olympics.

Are you involved in mentoring, a charity or do you”give back” or “pay it forward” in your community?

Currently I am coaching my little brother middle school wrestling team along with coaching youth football as well!